Oscars 2017 Best Picture Mix Up

Okay, so it was worth staying awake the entire night after all. I mean, who would’ve though the wrong movie was going to be announced Best Picture? Quite crazy, if you ask me. One would assume they’d make sure this doesn’t happen… apparently not. That was a tiny bit embarrassing for the producers of the show.

356d2c4ab5a2c5d1b96ae8457589bfa6Okay, first things first: Warren Beatty is entirely innocent. If anyone on stage is to blame it’s Faye Dunaway. Warren was confused and obviously tried to come to terms with Faye about what to do. He obviously didn’t want to announce the winner, because it was clear there was something wong. Feye on the other hand, obviously happy for Lalaland, pushed Warren to announce the winner and eventually did it herself.

There were two sets of envelopes and unfortunately, they were given the second envelope for Best Actress in a Leading Role instead of one of the two Best Picture envelopes. How such a grave mistake could’ve happen, even though the individual envelopes are labeled, I don’t know. I just know some people watching on TV took screenshots showing that Warren indeed had the wrong envelope in his hands and didn’t notice. I can understand, I mean, I wouldn’t doublecheck myself, as I’d assume they’d give me the rigt envelope. It was their job to announce the winner, not to make sure they get the right envelope handed to them.

I still blame Faye to press forward in joy over the supposed win of Lalaland, I mean, she must’ve seen “Emma Stone, Lalaland” written in there, Warren clearly showed it to her, but instead of making sure this fishy envelope is actually right, she just went on and announced Lalaland to be the winner. Personally, I think the two of them should’ve gone backstage or asked someone from the crew to come to the stage, because there’s something wrong with the envelope. Sure, that would interrupt the award ceremony, but that would’ve been better than the mess we ended up with.

That being said, the crew from Lalaland proved to be extreamly gracious losers, even after someone on stage suggested they should just keep the Oscar (really? REALLY? That’s just disgusting). They very very nice towards the actual winners and earned a great deal of respect for their fairness. The situation was bad for both the crew of Lalaland and the Moonlight, but I think Lalaland has it even worse. I mean, imagine being told you just won the most important award for movies, only to realize shortly after it’s all a mistake – still on stage with millions of people watching. That’s really, really bad. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t nice for Moonlight to win like this either, but at least they went out of it with the Oscar in their hands.

Is Moonlight a deserving winner? I don’t know. I haven’t seen Lalaland yet, because I have absolutely zero interest in that movie. I love musicals, but I’m usually not a big fan of romance, I don’t watch romances. (funny, though, because I usuall have no problem with romance anime/manga, but in live action movies it makes my toenails roll up) I know I’m probably the least romantic female being on the planet, but Lalaland just doesn’t appeal to me at all. The next cinema is literally 10 minutes by foot from my home and Lalaland is mv5bnzqxntiyodaxmv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzqymda3ote-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_showing. I could stand up and watch is right now, but something in me just doesn’t want to.

On the other hand, I also haven’t seen Moonlight, because it hasn’t even started showing in Germany yet. However, thanks to winning 3 Oscars including Best Picture, I have hopes they’ll show it at said cinema 10 minutes by foot from my home. It’s a very small cinema, so they don’t show all the movies, especially not the ones expeted to attrackt a smaller audience. Ever since I first read about Moonlight I wanted to see that movie, I hate romances, but love this stuff. I love the kind of movies that move you emotionally, that make you think, that point a finger and open your eyes to problems you haven’t really seen so far.

So, I’ll try to see Moonlight in cinema and see if it’s a worthy winner. I just read someone complaining people forget about the best picture winners after a year anyway, because it’s movies nobody watches, but I watch them and I like them.

Leave a Reply

