Anime of the Year

With 2015 comming to a close, it’s time to name by personal favorites of 2015! I guess…

I didn’t really had much time this year, so I would’ve liked to watch/read/play some more stuff, but I have to work with what I have.

5-9

Ore Monogatari

Let’s start with Anime of the Year. I think I had a pretty good anime year, or at least say I’ve had worse. There was Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (continuing from Fall ’14, but who cares), which I really enjoyed. I actually still need to complete it, but since I read the manga, I know what’s comming and I know I will cry my eyes out.

Then there was Haikyuu season 2. I love the manga and the anime did not disappoint so far. Well, they weren’t able to convey some of the epic scenes as well as the manga did, but sill pretty good. Season 2 has been better than season 1, but I guess that’s also because Karasuno finally starts to work better and better and becomes a stronger team, therefore achieving more.

Ore Monogatari was a nice new take on a romantic comedy with a male lead, but without ecchi or harem whatsoever. It’s… like a normal shoujo, but with a very shounen-ish male lead.

Owari no Seraph season 1 + 2, pretty good. The visuals were the best part of it though, but the story get’s much more interesting starting season 2. It’s certainly worth a watch.

Ushio to Tora was a cool old-school anime, I just enjoyed the heck out of it. Sure, I was riding on nostalgia here, but I really needed a good old action shounen and Ushio to Tora delivered!

Nao

Charlotte

Charlotte was okay, but the ending was… weird. I didn’t need that scientific explanation and stuff, I was fine just accepting a world with superpowers in it.

Also, a special nod towards Digimon Adventire Tri: Saikai. It was made for me, I swear. While it wasn’t perfect, it did a lot of things very right and I take off my hat for that. Can’t wait for the second movie, keep it going strong, it was awesome.

My three runner-ups for best anime of the year are: Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, Shokugeki no Soma and OnePunchMan. These three anime are very different and all exceeded in their own right, so it’s very hard to choose. Shirayuki-hime is certainly one of the better romance-anime since Ouran High School Host Club. Soma hits my sweet spot with it’s crazy cooking theme and great execution and OnepunchMan ist just pure fun, but had a bit of a rough start.

In the end, even though I rated OPM higher, I guess my anime of the year is Shokugeki no Soma. Everyone was hyping OPM and even though it managed to live up to the hype, Soma was a bigger surprise for me and it really hits all the right spots. It’s the spiritual successor of Yakitate Japan, without drifting off in sheer nonsense so far. It’s just unfortunate they’re stretching out the autumn selections that much. Well, whatever.

tve382a2e3838be383a1e3808ce9a39fe6889fe381aee382bde383bce3839ee3808dpv-mp4_snapshot_00-36_2014-12-22_19-58-25

Shokugeki no Soma

Leave a Reply

