Zelda Skyward Sword – First impressions

So, my brand new Wii and Skyward Sword arrived! Yay!

So, let’s talk a bit about my first impressions: I like the graphics. Oh my god, how can I say that? Well, the more realistic graphics from Twilight Princess suited the game, because it was a pretty dark game to begin with, but Skyward Sword is (at least until this point) not nearly as dark as Twilight Princess. In fact, I don’t think it was dark at all… it’s pretty light hearted, so it’s ok to have more light hearted graphics. It’s a bit blurry yeah, but it’s ok, we don’t want another Windwaker, do we?

What I like the most about this game are the fighting mechanics. I’ve played Twilight Princess on the gamecube, so this is my first time with motion controls and it works greats. I’m absolutely thrilled, this is so much fun. To be honest, it took me a little bit of practice to get used to it, but it feels great to be able to have so much control over the sword in comparison to the A-button-mashing from the past. And it’s pretty cool you have to look where your opponent is blocking right now and strike from a different angle, it makes the fighting more interesting, but it’s still considerable easy. It doesn’t take long to get used to it and it’s great fun. I have my problems with blocking though. xD

Another part of the game I like a lot are those gigantic Birds. Riding them is even cooler than Epona and I freaking love Epona. I still suck at it, you’d probably find it very easy, but for me it’s pretty hard. Piloting the plain on Wii Sports Resort is a lot easier. xD

While there is a lot stuff I like in this game (breaking shields, potions you can upgrade, the sky-world, jumping off into the clouds, a Zelda with personality, creative creatures, the animation when Link runs up a wall, the scenery looks great…), sadly, there’s a huge bummer.  I’m 2 hours and 50 minutes into the game and I haven’t reached the first dungeon yet. The introduction just takes way too long and there are too many cutscenes. Everyone and everything is contantly stopping you. At the beginning, I reached a point where I was like: “stop talking please, just give me a sword and let me kill some monsters”. I really missed the good old sword fighing action, the first part of the game really takes to long and while I enjoy fighing and exploring so much, it’s kind of annoying when you’re stopped every few meters. On one hand, they take their damn long time to get the story rolling and to explain every little thing to you, but on the other hand, they don’t give you the time to expore and take action by yourself.

I’ve read reviews where people compared the level of Skyward Sword to Ocarina of Time, but to be honest: if Skyward Sword wants to reach Ocarina of Time, it really has to improve a lot, it especially needs to stop stopping me all the time. It finally needs to let me do something on my own. Ocarina of time just threw you into action. You know, like: here you are, there’s your sword, there’s the first dungeon, go and have fun. The entire story comes after that and this is what makes the beginning of Ocarina of Time so great. When I started playing OoT 3D, I instantly had the “OoT”-feeling, because it throws you right into action and this a really impressive start for the game. While I’ve probably already finished the first Dungeon in Ocarina of Time, I haven’t even reached it in Skyward Sword. It’s like I’m really dying to see the first dungeon, because the dungeons are what Zelda does best. I usually play this games for the dungeons, so could you please give me one already?

Leave a Reply

