Chihayafuru episode 6

Chihayafuru has already managed to become my favorite of the season, but it’s getting better and better with every episode. While I thought the episodes in the past were a bit boring, it’s entertaining me a lot more now.

Also I think it’s funny that Taichi has always been in love with Chihaya, but never told her. Get a grip boy, but I can understand why you won’t tell her: she probably doesn’t even think about love at all, the only thing she truly loves is karuta and this is probably how far her understanding of love goes. And all this, although Taichi and Chihaya would make a great couple, if you ask me. No, not just from the outlook apperance (when those two extraordinary goodlooking persons stand next to each other, they pretty much overshine everything around them), but also judging from their character as well.

Arata might become a problem, though… since he was the one who taught Chihaya the joy of karuta and he’s the one she wants to play with the most, he has actually quite good chances, but I still think Taichi suits her better character-wise. Well, whatever, at least he’s back to playing karuta, as we’ve seen at the very end of the episode. I was very afraid this might turn into the quest to make Arata play karuta again, but the end of episode 5 was very heartwarming when he said he always wanted to be friends with Chihaya and Taichi, so it qas quite obvious he’ll start playing karuta on his own again, but very nicely done.

The new girl… I really like her. In comparison to Chihaya, she looks like a grey mouse and her entire apperance was very quite, but she turned out to have quite the strong will. It surprised me when she actually made Chihaya model for her parents’ shop and the first thing she did in the club, was making Chihaya and Taichi clean the room. Yeah, I really like her, I can say that and I can’t wait to see more from her. Now it’s just down to two more members and I’m very exited who that might be.

I’ve mentioned Chihayas good looks twice now, so I’d like to get this straight: I was laughing when I noticed that Chihaya, who doesn’t give a damn about what people think of her and who has a tomboy-ish personality, is actually prettier than her sister when she was her age, who was trying to become a professional model back then. Of course, the main character of a manga/anime is usually someone who looks good, but in this case they’re playing around with this, because Chihaya really doesn’t care and her outlook apperance doesn’t suit her character at all. I’d even call it a missfortune in her case, because it makes people believe that she’s the perfect girl and as soon as she goes into action or just opens her mouth she’s the weirdo and everyone tries to avoid her. She’s nice to look at, but nothing more. Good thing Chihaya doesn’t care about this, because this is pretty harsh.

Speaking about something harsh: I thought it was unbelievable when she was in elementary school and her partens wouldn’t even listen to her when she tried to tell them very proudly that she won the karuta tournament at her school. They were all over her sister, because of some modeling job and even allowed her to talk shit about Chihayas karuta-achievement, making little Chihaya very sad who actually managed to swallow her tears and laughed not too lang after this. What a girl, I felt truly sorry for her. 😦

Leave a Reply

