Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (AnoHana) Episode 1 – Surprise Attack

I’ve just watched AnoHana episode 1. I have to admit, I completely forgot about this anime and just watched the first episode, because I was bored and felt like watching a new anime. I can’t tell you how glad I’m right now, because it would’ve been a shame to miss this.

From what I’ve watched so far, no anime was seriously bad, but no anime left an impression on me. Toriko was silly, Sket Dance was average, Hanasaku Iroha was quite nice, C was kinda… weird, Sekaiichi Hatsukoi was pretty much as goo as I predicted and that’s all I’ve seen so far. Funny enough the only anime I didn’t even plan to watch left the biggest and most positive impression on me: AnoHana.

It’s some kind of comming of age-story I guess. Six old friends have lost connection after one of them died and over the years everyone has heavily  changed. The past leader of  the group “Jintan” is now a shut-in who refuses to go to school, but he can see something he calls “his stress” and this is his dead friend Menma. For her sake he tries to overcome his complexes and wants to fulfill her last wish, but to do so, he will have to reunite all of his old friends and this is not an easy task, considering everyone’s such much different than they used to be.

Actually, I’ve been thinking if Menma is an hallucination like Jintan said, or if she’s a ghost, because she goes off wandering around on her own (altough she’s seen with Jintan the most). If she’s a ghost than she would lead him and his friends back to happiness or something like this, but if she’s a hallucination isn’t it more like it’s Jintas wish for everyone to reunite again? Well, I guess we’ll see what comes next.

As for me I’m really looking foward to next week and I can’t wait for the next episode. This was the best first episode I’ve seen this season. I’d a really nice slice of life drama, I hope it will keep it’s quality up. If it does, I’ll easily turn into an anime I’d love to recommend everyone to watch.

Leave a Reply

