Komatta Toki ni wa Hoshi ni Kike – even more Shounen-ai! I think I’m an addict…

And I’ve read yet another shounen-ai manga and this time, it hasn’t anything to do with anime, I’ve just read it for the heck of it. I like reading shounen-ai and yaoi, I really think I’m an addict… on the other hand: I’m a manga-addict anyway, so it doesn’t really makes any difference at all. Btw: spoiler ahead.

So, I’ve read the manga with the name I’ll never be able to remember without looking it up: Komatta Toki no wa Hoshi no Kike. Or also known as: Ask the Stras for Help! … yeah, whatever this title wants me to tell about the story is still an unsolved question for me. I’ve read 14 volumes now ( I think it’s around 41 chapers) and it’s a normal Highschool Story, I pretty much gave up on figuring out what the tile has to do with the manga. It’s finished by the way: 26 volumes with a total of 82 chapters, but only 14 volumes are scanlated right now and the scanlations are slow as fuck… damn. It’s an older manga, that was published between 1997 and 2005. A Shounen-Ai manga with a total of 26 volumes is actually really long, you don’t see this too often, but I can totally understand why it’s so long, because I really enjoyed reading it.

In my previous entry, I said I don’t like the typical Highschool Romance, but this one is exactly what I like, because the main point is, that the main couple does not “get together” too early. They don’t even fall in love this fast, it takes a long while and this is what makes it so enjoyable for me: they don’t jump from strangers to eternal love and the way their relationshiop slowly progresses to the point where everyone around them notices they have to be in love or something, but neither of them has actually confessed yet. I think Takara hasn’t even admitted to himself that he’s in love (volume 14). Actually right now we’re at the stage when he slowy begins to suffer due to his love, because he get’s jealous, he doesn’t like to be seperated from Hosaka for too long or he’s deeply hurt by harsh words Hosaka says without noticing. Well, Hosaka on the other hand seems to know that Takara is a very special person to him, if he knows that it’s love… I’m not sure, but it’s clear both of them want and need contact with each other – physical contact.

It begins with both of them pretty much hating each other, because their personalities clash against one another. They’re both hard to handle and really similar to each other in certain aspects, so they don’t get along at first. After being stuck in one room in the dorm, they’re forced to live with each other and quarrel pretty much every day. I’m convinced they’re both masochists and sadists at the same time, they need their fights. xD While they’re fighting all the time, they actually begin to get really close and at one point they somehow begin to share one bed and it goes on and on until they sleep together every night. Physical contact, that was used to tease the other at the beginning, becomes something normal to them not even worth mentioning anymore, let alone fighting over it. The way their relationship is now, it looks like a couple that has been going out for 2 year, but like I said earlier: neither of them has confessed anything. From their point of view, they’re still in a kind of “friends”-relationship, while they behave completely different. I’m actually pretty interested in what a relationship might look like, because considering Hosaka, I doubt he’d have a probem kissing Takara in public. This could turn into a few very funny moments, indeed.

By the way, I said both of their characters are similar to each other, so both characters seem to be pretty strong (while they both have their weak points) and so the seme/uke-pattern is played out pretty nice. What bugs me a bit is the fact the Takara cries from times to times. For a 16-year old male, it just looks weird to cry, no matter if he’s a huge boxer or a pussy. Well, whatever…

This manga is nothing near perfect or anything, but I just enjoy reading it a lot. The slice-of-life parts are pretty nice and while some drama that is added in there (kidnapping…) doesn’t really suit the manga in my opinion, it’s still pretty enjoyable to read. The art is a bit stiff here and there and since the beginning is pretty old, so is the style of art, but all in all it’s ok. What pisses me off a bit, is the fact that the kisses aren’t shown. You either see nothing or at least not the lips touching, that’s irritating me. As a sidenote: no kiss has happend out of the desire  to express love to the other character as of now. It was just to tease Takara, I’m still waiting for a “real” kiss out of love and with the only intention to express love.

While MyAnimeList.net has “Comedy, Drama, Shounen-Ai” listed as the genre, I think the amount of drama until now is pretty much normal. Don’t expect too much drama, really. Most of the time, I think it’s pretty lighthearted and altough I sure don’t laught about every joke, the comedy adds to the lighthearted atmosphere. I’d say it’s more of a BL slice-of-life manga with some comedy and drama in it. I was actually quite surprised Slice-of-Life is not listed.

So, I like this manga a lot and I totally recommend it for you, if you want to read shounen-ai without too much clichee, but a few cute moments here and there, as well as a relationship in it’s main focus that progresses slowly without both characters jumping at each other after 5 chapters.

2 thoughts on “Komatta Toki ni wa Hoshi ni Kike – even more Shounen-ai! I think I’m an addict…

    • I’m reading the scanlations and those aren’t finished yet, so… I’m sorry, I have no idea if they confess at one point, as far as I’ve read, they haven’t.

Leave a Reply

